Chicken Pot Pie

It’s been a looonnnng time since I last posted on this blog.

It’s not that I have not been cooking, while working from home…I just haven’t been posting on this blog.

My business grew and something had to move down the priority list.  In this case, it seems it fell off the list.

I have continually posted pictures of things I have cooked on Facebook and Instagram, just did not make the time to post to this blog.

Well, after a few requests of recipes from previous pictures posted, I decided this would probably be more conducive, efficient and most of all I hope it helps others to create comfort foods.

Chicken Pot pie originalToday is an experiment

My daughter has fixed this before and I absolutely loved it, always said I was gonna try one myself, never did.

Since it’s starting to get chilly here (Los Angeles), which I KNOW is no comparison to the mid-west or east coast…it’s still a lil chilly for us, I wanted to fix something that will last a few days (with two roommates) and be comforting too.

Let me say this upfront…I am not measuring anything, the measurements I use is for your benefit and are strictly guesstimates. My suggestion is to research other pot pie recipes if you need measurements and throw in a few things you love, you just cannot go wrong here.

Tip:  I cooked more chicken than I plan to use because in a couple of days, I plan to cook Tortilla Soup.  Another of my favorite comfort foods,

My Ingredients

  • (3) Skinless Chicken Breasts,(3) Chicken Legs, and (1) Chicken Thighs
  • 5 Bay leaves
  • 5 Cloves of Garlic (minced)  – I love garlic
  • Bag of frozen mixed vegetables (small or medium sized bag)
  • 1 Carrot – chopped
  • 1/2 medium Bell Pepper chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 3 T butter
  • 2 T flour
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 can cream of mushroom
  • 1 cup of chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup of chopped celery
  • 1 box of frozen puffed pastry.

chicken pot pie afterTake the puffed pastry out of the freezer (needs about 30-40 minutes to thaw). Season the chicken and boil until done.   Set the chicken aside and let cool, save the juice in the pot  and pour into a container to use later in this recipe and do not wash the pot.

Cut up the celery, bell pepper, onions and garlic while the chicken is cooking

Once the chicken has cooled, remove meat from the bones and cut in chunks (medium size) and put aside. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In the same pot that you cooked the chicken in, melt the butter and saute’ the bell pepper, celery and onion for about 2 minutes, add the garlic and cook for another minute.

Add the bag of frozen mixed vegetables and stir.  Add the flour and stir well.  After it is mixed pretty well, while stirring, add in the juice from the chicken and the chicken broth and cook for a few minutes and let it thicken, gradually add in the heavy cream.

Add the chicken back to the pot and cook for a few more minutes. Pour the mixture into a baking dish or individual bowls. Sprinkle more flour on a cutting board and open the puffed pastry and cut into long strips. Place the strips in lattice style on top of the mixture in the baking dish – Bake for about 20-25 minutes until the pastry is light brown.  Take out the oven, cool and ENJOY!

Share Your Thoughts

