OMG…Cheesy Potato Casserole…a different twist

This morning I wanted to have something different for breakfast.  I then remembered the cheesy potato casserole that Cracker Barrel has.  It is soo good and I had been meaning to look for a recipe online.  The search began.

I found a recipe that seems like it would taste like it BUT I don’t have any creamy soup.  THAT was not going to defeat me! The recipe is from 2001 and there are comments and suggestions, check them out.

I looked in the cabinet and I found chicken stock and McCormicks original country gravy packet.  Hmmmm.  I decided I was gonna make this my own recipe.

I used the chicken stock instead of water and made the gravy.  Instead of regular sour cream, I used mexican crema. I added some bell pepper and it is da bomb!

Here’s my recipe:

Ingredients

3 medium gold potatoes (you could use frozen hash browns)

1/4 cup of creamy

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup of cheddar cheese

1/4 cup of mexican cheese blend

1/2 cup chopped onions

1/4 cup of bell pepper

Sea salt for taste

Cook the potatoes for 8 minutes and cool in cold water.  Shred into a bowl.  (I keep the skin on) Shred and add the cheese.  Add the bell pepper and onions.  In a small pan, follow the instructions for the gravy mix, but use the chicken broth instead of the water.  I would add about 1/8 of cup more so it won’t be too thick.  Pour the gravy in the bowl with all of the other ingredients and mix gently.  Add the sour cream.  In a glass dish spray it or grease the sides to prevent sticking.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes..brown the top a little.

If you don’t have any type of cream of soup or package like I used, you probably could make a white sauce with flour and butter too!  That would have been my next step if I had not used the packaged gravy.

Sounds good huh….Any other suggestions, let me know!

Share Your Thoughts

