Chicken Casserole My Way

Happy Holidays to all. This is another recipe that will be great for leftover chicken or turkey.  I had leftover chicken from fixing the Tortilla Soup the other day and again, I wanted something different.

I have never really made a chicken casserole before without having some form of creamed soup.  I did not have any so I looked up some recipes and created my own.  I used two different recipes and of course added my own twist.

Ingredients:

2 leftover chicken breast, cubed

3 chicken things, cubed

3 T of flour

1 Cup of half and half

1/2 cup of chicken broth

3 1/2 T of butter

Creole seasoning, salt & ground pepper to taste.

2 cups of rice

1 cup of chopped celery

1 cup of frozen peas

1-2 cups of cheese

Cut the celery, and add to the pot of uncooked rice.  Cook the rice as normal with the celery for about 6 minutes, add the peas, and finish cooking until the rice is tender.

In a heavy pan, melt the butter and add the chicken.  Once it bubbling, add the flour until it starts to bubble, stirring constantly.  Add the half and half, and chicken broth and cook until thick.  If its too thick, you can always add more of each slowly, but you do want it to be thick.

Add the chicken mixture to the rice mixture and mix well.  Pour into a glass casserole dish, cover with the cheese and bake covered for 20 minutes, until bubbly.  You could also add some breadcrumbs to the top after it has baked for about 10 minutes and bake for 10 more.  If I had some, I would have done that too.

Sound good?  If you try it, let me know what you think.

Share Your Thoughts

