Classic Tortilla Soup with Chicken….AGAIN

Considering it is chilly/cold outside and I have been cooking quite a bit since I have been in Illinois and I wanted something different comforting.  I was craving Mexican style food.

When I worked in Torrance years ago, we would frequent a restaurant there, La Capilla. They have the BEST Chicken Tortilla Soup and many other great dishes.

As I mentioned before, I love the cooking show on Food Network with Marcela Valladolid, Mexican Made Easy.  She makes it look very easy and tasty.  I made this one about 6 months ago, but for some reason this time it was much better. I think I did not add the tortillas in the blender the last time.

This is a great recipe.  I am not going to spend the time re-typing her recipe, but I will include a link.  Of course, I did add my own twist which is what I will explain. Her recipe does not include meat.

This is a great recipe for leftovers.  You could use leftover chicken, turkey, or purchase a roasted chicken.

  • I seasoned three chicken breast, added about 1/8 of cilantro, and pan grilled them with about two tablespoons of olive oil until done.
  • I shredded the chicken and put it aside.

I followed her recipe, but I added cilantro in the blender with the sauce.   We happen to love cilantro and wanted more of that flavor in ours. When fixing the bowls of soup, place the shredded chicken in the bowl first and put the soup over the chicken and all the other ingredients mentioned in the recipe.

I also fixed her Roasted Tomatillo Salsa which is spicy and great if you mix a little bit of it in with the soup.  I suggest you fix that first and put it aside…you can always use it for other dishes.  I plan to fix some Enchiladas with it for Christmas.

To find the Tortilla Soup full recipe, click here. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Classic Tortilla Soup with Chicken….AGAIN

  1. Pingback: Chicken Casserole My Way « Virtually Cooks

  2. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie | Virtually Cooks

Share Your Thoughts

