Quick Leftover Chicken Dish

WOW…It has been a loonnng time since I posted on this blog.  I honestly have not been cooking like I use to since I don’t really have “my own” kitchen right now.  Staying at mom’s, I try to stay out of the way most of the time 🙂

My granddaughter is visiting with me for part of the summer so I am cooking a little bit more and decided to utilize some leftovers I had today.  I bought a rotisserie chicken a few days ago at a grocery store and typically I always take the leftovers and make chicken salad.

I wanted to do something different today…I created a white sauce with Asiago cheese and served it over pasta (spaghetti).  I also had leftover shrimp scampi from yesterday so I threw that in after the sauce was done, yummy.

Process – This took about 15 minutes tops:

Pulled all of the chicken off of the bones and chopped it up into bite size pieces.  Start the pasta.  You can use just about any pasta that is not too thin.

White Sauce:

2 T of Butter

2 fork fulls of flour (about 1 1/2 T)

1 C of milk

Melt the butter and whisk in the flour, then whisk in the milk.  Warm until it comes just starts to boil, add about 3/4 cup of the cheese.  Stirring periodically as it thickens..add more cheese if you would like it a little thicker. You can also add milk if it becomes too thick.

Once the sauce is the consistency you want, add the chicken and cook for a few minutes until the chicken is warmed up.

Share Your Thoughts

