Great Pasta Dish

pasta dish

I don’t have a name for this dish yet.  If anyone has suggestions after reading this, please let me know…

I had a taste for spaghetti – kinda.  As I started to look for ingredients needed, I realized we only had a small, 4 oz can of tomato sauce.

Then I thought about meat loaf since we had potatoes and I could make masked potatoes.  For some reason that just did not feel exactly right but I wanted the taste…..I wanted something with pasta and cheese….I came up with what you see in the picture!  It tasted better the 2nd day!

Alternatives:  this dish could be fixed with no meat, shredded chicken, ground turkey – I fixed it with ground beef – I think I will try shredded chicken next time. I would also add about 1/2 cup of zucchini as well to add volume and flavor – especially if I was fixing this with no meat…

This will take about 1 hour to fix.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef (lean)

whole wheat penne pasta

8 oz can of diced tomatoes with garlic & herb

4 oz can of tomato sauce

2 cups of shredded cheese

5 cloves of garlic (need about 1 tablespoon minced)

fresh spinach

1/4 cup of bbq sauce

1/4 cup of chili sauce

1/2 cup of bell pepper

1/2 cup of onion

1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes

2 T of olive oil

Non Stick Spray

3/4 cup of fresh mushrooms

1 package of meat loaf seasoning

Seasonings:  italian, thyme, old bay, seasoned salt, fresh ground pepper,

Process:

In a large pot saute’ bell pepper, onions, and garlic in olive oil for about 2 minutes.  Add ground beef or whatever meat you want to use.  If you use chicken, boil it and shred it first.  Brown your meat and season it.

While the meat is cooking, boil your pasta until it is almost done. When it is ready, drain and rinse with cool water, set it aside.

Pre-heat the oven at 350 degrees.

In a bowl, mix the tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, bbq sauce and chili sauce.

After the meat is cooked, add the sauce mixture to the pot with the meat in it, and cook for about 15 minutes on a medium heat stirring occasionally.  Add 3/4 of the cheese, and mushrooms.  You can also add parmesan cheese as well.   I used a cheddar/jack mixture of cheese and parmesan. Mix the fresh spinach into the meat  sauce AFTER has finished cooking, just before adding the pasta.

Add the pasta to the pot, mix well and turn the pot off.  Spray a glass dish with non-stick spray.  Pour the ingredients from the pot into the glass dish.  Sprinkle with the remainder of cheese. Bake for 30 -45 minutes at 350 degrees.

Serve with garlic bread and salad…Yummmy

Share Your Thoughts

