I taught my client how to cook Mashed Potatoes

If you have followed me on Twitter or Facebook – you know I have been traveling and working.  During my travels I have been cooking for different people, and trying to teach others.  My client in LA was so excited I was going to be there and insisted I spend a day working with her.  I was excited too as she is a great client.

She picked me up and of course “we” were going to cook for her husband.  As we were shopping I found out that she did not know how to fix Mashed Potatoes.  I was so surprised…of course we had a quick lesson. Within 30 minutes we had a meat loaf in the oven and potatoes were cooking. An hour later, dinner was done AND we were getting some work done as well.

I firmly believe no matter how busy we are we can find time to cook a meal.  Maybe not everyday, but a few days a week and we can fix great meals quickly.  I mixed the meatloaf with Italian sausage and all the additional ingredients (see previous posts for information).

Mashed Potatoes – Ingredients

4 medium potatoes – cubed

2 T of butter

3 cloves of garlic – minced

1/2 of an onion – cubed

Half milk/half water – cover the potatoes

Salt

Put all of the ingredients in a pot and cook of medium/low heat until very soft.  Drain the liquid – most of it.  Save some in case they are dry when you mash the potatoes.  Add more butter depending on your taste and mash.  Taste and add either liquid you saved, butter or salt.  If you want to be creative, once you drain the liquid, while the potatoes are still hot, add some shredded cheese prior to mashing and it should be hot enough to melt the cheese.

I was quite happy to fix it and it came out great…Maybe I should look at it for a new profession and charge for it – I’ll be a Virtual Chef!!

Share Your Thoughts

