Recreating Meatloaf

Slowly but surely I am trying to change my eating habits.  I an helping a friend learn how to cook who is very health conscious.  This time I made a meatloaf.  The old me would use hamburger and maybe regular italian sausage.  This time I used ground turkey, turkey italian sausage and a little bit of ground beef.  I had put a little bit in it.

I must say it came out excellent!  I like the McCormick seasoning pack for meat loaf and you know I add my own stuff.

Ingredients

1lb. Ground Turkey

3 links Turkey Italian Sausage

1/4 lb ground beef

onions, bell pepper – 1/4 each – chopped

4 cloves of fresh garlic

2 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Meat Loaf Seasoning

1 Egg

1/4 c milk

Seasonings – italian, old bay, lemon pepper, chicken seasoning

Turn the oven on 350 degrees.  I sauteed onions, bell pepper, and garlic in olive oil first.  Put the meat in a bowl and mixed it all together.  Add the vegetables after they were sauteed for about 3 minutes.  Add all the seasonings, egg, milk.  Mix everything together and form as loaf in a glass backing dish.  Bake for approximately an hour – not too much longer or else it could be dry.

For the sides – I prepared steamed vegetables and mashed potatoes.  My trick with mashed potatoes is to cook with half water, half milk.  Add garlic (anykind), butter and boil til soft.  I may even put some shredded cheese in it when I mash the potatoes.   I like brown gravy for my meatloaf as well. I do not like it with tomato sauce.

I have another receipe I tried that was very good that my daughter wanted me to make – but this is my old reliable that I can pull together when there isn’t much time to cook and it will last a few days.  It’s always better the 2nd day!

Share Your Thoughts

