Quick Pasta with Andouille Sausage

This one was a quick meal I created the other day when I did not feel like cooking, nor eating out.  I have been very busy with my business and I needed to make this quickly.  This is basic and can be utilized soo many ways.  This is really quick and easy with leftover meats as well!

Ingredients:

Penne Pasta – Wheat   Note:  You could use the spiral if that’s all you have.

Andouille Sausage

Red Sauce (ready made in Jar – I used Garlic with Herb)

Bell pepper, Onions, Garlic

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Parmesan Cheese

Brown the meat, and boil the pasta.  Once the pasta was done, I put in the collander for rinsing.  In the pot that I cooked the pasta, I quickly simmered bell pepper, onion & garlic in olive oil.  I added the pasta back and stirred.  Add the red sauce and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the meat to the pasta and cook for another 5 minutes.  Sprinkle cheese either in the pot or after it has been put on the plate.

Alternatives:

Add fresh spinach to the pasta mix before the meat.

You could use chicken, smoked sausage, shrimp or any meat – even combined.  I don’t think it would be good with beef at all though.

Add dried tomatoes instead of a red sauce and a little more extra virgin Olive Oil.

Hope you enjoy it!!

Share Your Thoughts

