My mommy’s day treat to my daughter

Happy Mother’s Day to all the hard-workin’ folk – that do what they can to raise great children for the future…It ain’t easy...

I decided that I would spoil my daughter this year vs.  waiting for her to cook for me (a rare occasion).  She has been really taking care of things for me lately and I wanted to honor her.  Hopefully her head cold will be a little clear and she can taste it. (smile – fingers crossed)

In an effort for us to work on eating healthier and because we both love salmon, I decided that would be our meat today.  I have not be doing as well with eating healthy as I have in the past and well, we gotta start somewhere again!

I want it crusted with something this time so I found two recipes, and you know me I am going to make my own out of the two with a little of my own twist.  I want pecans, and I do want a little parmesan cheese, but I also found a new seasoning that fits the need as well.  I will post a link to it at the end of this so you can see.

My twist:  I am going to combine the crusting ingredients for the pecans, leave out the flaxseed since I don’t have any (may try that later) , keep the brown sugar, plus a little bit of the horseradish from the other recipe.  I think the sweet and tart will work well.  I am going to make the dill sauce recipe to sprinkle over it.

I am going to sear the crusted side first in olive oil & sesame oil – then stick it in the over for a few minutes since the salmon is not very thick.  I am going to make my famous spinach on the side and serve garlic breadsticks…ooh I can taste it now…

The recipes I found that I am using  pecan crust … bread crumb crustNew crusting blends(I have the Italian herb & cheese, plus it has the panko bread crumbs included!)

I will update the post later with the results…until next time…

Update: It was absolutely great…I combined the pecan crust with the crushing blends, added brown sugar, put the crust on the salmon, seared it and put in the oven at 375 for about 8 minutes.  I used the sauce from the bread crumb crust recipe and instead of Vermouth, I used white wine.  It all was very tasty!!  I am going to try putting the crust on top and just bake it the next time just to see if it will still be as crunchy.  We loved it, my daughter could kinda taste it!

Share Your Thoughts

