“I” baked a cake!

I LOVE to cook – BUT I am NOT a baker.  I can make a family recipe for yeast rolls – sometimes they rise and sometimes they don’t.  Most of the time they come out good now – I figured out what I was doing wrong.

When I was in Atlanta a few weeks ago with my mom, she baked my daughters favorite pie – a coconut custard pie – yummy.  We ended up talking about one of my favorite cakes that she makes called a Texas Sheet Cake.  I had tried and tried to make that cake, a very simple recipe and it just never worked for me.  I resigned myself to the fact I am just not a baker.

I have a few things I can bake that work well, peach cobbler, sweet potatoe pie (which I don’t really eat), and creme’ brulee’.  Creme brulee’ is my favorite desert so I had to perfect that!

Anyway, so I told my mom I wanted to try the cake again and she emailed me the recipe.  I carefully put all of the ingredients together, mixed it up, poured it into the baking dish.  After I poured the cake batter into the dish – I remembered – I had not put in the baking soda!  so I sprinked it across the top and gently stirred it in.

Three days later – the cake is gone – so I guess my family liked it! BUT my daughter had a birthday yesterday and guess what she wanted – so I baked another one and it came out even better.  This is a pretty quick cake to make – remember that’s my motto!

Follow this recipe exactly.

Grease a 9×12 glass dish with butter and a little flour.  Turn oven on to 325.

Texas Sheet Cake

Ingredients for Cake

2 cups of sugar, 2 cups sifted flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup, water, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 cubes butter (1/2 lb.),  4 T Hersheys cocoa (unsweetened), 2 eggs

Put sugar, flour, & salt in large bowl.  In small pot, bring butter, water, and cocoa to boil.  Immediately add to dry ingredients.  Mix well, add sour cream with tsp soda, mix, and add eggs.

Pour into the glass dished (It must be thoroughly greased w butter & flour (rub the butter completely around the dish covering it thin layer, take a lil flour and spread it by moving the dish around so that the flour covers the entire dish – do not make it thick) I learned this early in the kitchen with my Nana.  Bake 30-35 minutes at 325 degrees.  Frost while cake is warm.

Cocoa Butter Nut Frosting

Ingredients

cup of walnuts or pecans (you can leave this off if you want), 1 box of powdered/confectioners sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 stick butter, 6 T milk, 4 T cocoa

Sift the confectioners sugar in a bowl, add vanilla.  Boil milk, butter, and cocoa.  Add to sugar and vanilla – beat well.  Spread over warm cake.

Tip you can either add nuts and mix with the frosting, or you can put on top of the cake after you have spread the frosting.

I really would love to hear how this comes out for someone after it took me soo long to get this simple recipe right!

Share Your Thoughts

