Do you like Red Beans & Rice?

This will be quick today – trying to catch up after spending Easter with my mom in Atlanta.  That was a long drive and I had hoped to post to this blog while I was there – but there just wasn’t enough time.

Last week, my granddaughters girl scout troop wanted to have a pot luck.   Of course, I had to say – I’ll cook something.  Needless to say, the troop leader called and reminded me.  I could not come up with anything, so I thought about Red Beans and Rice. That is something easy and quick (for me) and I know my grandbaby loves it and thought the kids would too.  My daughter ended up fixing those snack size sausages with biscuits wrapped around them in the oven – 15 minutes – DONE…

BUT – I still cooked the red beans and rice.

This is NOT a quick meal, more of an easy meal to fix while you are working.  Another comfort food for me, here’s how:

Ingredients/shopping list:

  • Red kidney beans (We use Camelliabrand.com) You can use others – we like this brand the best.
  • Smoked Turkey
  • Bay Leaves
  • Bell Pepper, Celery, Onion, Garlic (our staple for all beans)
  • Seasoning
  • Smoked Sausage, Andouille Sausage
  • Jiffy corn bread mix (need egg, milk)

Choice:  Soak the beans overnite – that reduces your cooking time.  If you forget, you will have to start early in the morning and boil for longer period of time.

In a pot that can hold about 10 cups of water – add your smoked turkey and cook med/low for a couple of hours until the mean falls off the bone.  Saute your bell pepper, onions, celery & garlic in a pan and put aside or place in a bowl.  In that same pan cook the smoked sausage, andouille sausage and put it aside. Do a lil work.

Once the smoked turkey is done, take the bones out of the pot and with a fork, pull all of the meat off of them and put it back in the pot.  Add the red beans, seasoning, bell pepper mixture in the bowl.  Bring to a boil and reduce the heat to medium. Do a lil work.

About 30-45 mins later – check for softness of the beans.  Add the sausages into the pot – NOT the grease from that pot – just the meat.  Cook for at least another 30 minutes or until the beans are very soft – not mushy. Do a lil work.

Take about 1/4 of the beans only out of the pot and put on a plate.  Mash them with a fork and put back in the pot and let it cook for another 10-15 minutes.  This will make the beans creamy.

Now, fix the jiffy cornbread (for ease).  When the cornbread is done, your beans should be ready too!  You will have a meal that you can eat off of for a few days and taste better the next day!  You can serve this by itself or with another meat.  But if you are like me – I put soo much sausage in it – It is a meal all by itself.

If you make too much – you can always freeze them.

Today – I am going to try my first cornbread from scratch (white corn meal).  I have ALWAYS wanted to try it.  My daughter’s godmother made some for their red beans this past weekend and I asked for some tips.  We shall see.

Till next time…..

Share Your Thoughts

