Shrimp Rolls…kinda quick

First of all, I have not fixed the tempura yet as planned – but that is coming.  I realized that many of my recipes are still packed. Ugh – after 4 months my basement is still full of boxes!! We’ll get that done soon.

We made shrimp rolls yesterday – it turned out to be a family thing.  My daughter mixed them, I spread the mixture, and my granddaughter rolled them.  This kind of fits for efficiency – it does not take a long time – but it is more of a hors d’oeuvres – finger food that is best eaten  shortly after cooking.

I got this recipe from mom because I wanted something to cook kinda fun for Valentines Day.  Not sure where she got it, but she typed it up and emailed to me. Of course, I always add a little extra to any recipe I use.  I don’t measure either, trust me it’s easy and it can be quick.  I buy shrimp that is already bagged up – normally a two pound bag.  It is usually deveined already, which saves oodles of time.  For my friends that I have introduced shrimp toast to

Here we go:

1 lb of Shrimp (peeled & deveined)

1 egg

1 T Sesame oil

Sea Salt, ground pepper, a lil chili powder, lemon pepper

Chopped Scallions – (about 4 or 5 green onions)

Chopped Bean sprouts (about 3/4 cup)

1 loaf or white bread (cut all the ends off and totally flatten with a rolling pin)

You may want something to dip these in.  I buy sweet and sour sauce and hot mustard.

____________________

First put the shrimp in a food processer or chopper and chop into paste (add to bowl)

Add sesame oil, egg, seasonings, chopped scallions, and bean sprouts.  Mix

Heat oil until hot (about 400 degrees) – You are going to deep fry these – so if you have a fry daddy or some type of deep fryer that is best.  If not, use a heavy pot and pour oil.  I mix peanut oil with canola oil.  Note: it needs to be hot enough to cook quickly and be crispy, but not too hot where it burns and cooks to fast.  If it’s not hot enough, it will not be crispy.  Learned the hard way – mine were kind of dark the first time. lol

Spread the paste on the bread leaving about an inch or more of bread uncovered.  Roll slightly tight and secure with toothpick.  You can use one for each end, but if it’s wrapped good one in the middle will do.  Do not put too much because remember when you roll the paste it will be squeezed and could come out. You’ll see.  I also tried to put a little bit more at first – but you will learn that it will not cook all the way if you make it too thick so be careful.

Fry them until they are golden brown.  If you are fixing for a party – you may want to cut them in half after they are cooked.  I would suggest to fry them no more than an hour before your guests arrive, and keep them uncovered so they remain crunchy.  Dip in the sauces and enjoy.  My mom suggest duck sauce for dipping too – I haven’t tried that.

One thought on “Shrimp Rolls…kinda quick

  1. I fixed this for my Mom shortly after receiving the recipe. I do like you don’t measure anything. I added a twist to it. I used crab and scallops and my Mom just raved about it. Told everyone what a great dish it was. I like them better with China sweet and sour then store purchased.

    Thank your Mom from my Mom

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

