Havin’ a lil steak – marinade, marinade, and seasoning


A client asked about a marinade for a London Broil.  I haven’t fixed one in a long time, but I think I will soon when the weather is better and I get my grill shipped from California.  This lead me to research, and reminded me that I wanted to post about seasoning.

First, let’s talk about marinades…One of the recipes I found I like, OF COURSE – I have to add my own spin on it.  You can pretty much use this on any beef that you are going to grill or broil…The quantity should be adjusted depending on how much meat you want to marinade.  I am going to use much of this when I marinade ribs for bbq as well – I just bought some St. Louis ribs that I cannot wait to cook.

In this case I am going to recommend:

1/2 c of sweet Italian Seasoning dressing

1 T of salad oil/canola

3 cloves of garlic chopped

1/2 c of Heinz 57 sauce

1/2 c of Worcestershire Sauce

1/4 tsp of seasoned salt (Johnnys I LOVE find it here)

1 T of balsamic vinegar

1/4 tsp of lemon pepper

1 tsp of italian parsley

1 whole onion – sliced thin (red)

Fresh thyme, basil, oregano, chives

Mix all the ingredients together – let sit for about 10 minutes.  Poke the meat in a few places with a fork.  Place the meat in a plastic storage bag and pour the marinade over it.  If you don’t have a storage bag large enough, I would use either a plastic container or a deeper glass dish.  Marinade overnight.

The next day grill the meat.  As for the marinade  – I would cook it in a pot and make a very thin gravy.  Taste the mixture and make adjustments by adding more seasoning if needed.  Pour a small amount in to a class with water and mix quickly with a little bit of flour using a fork making sure there are no lumps and pour back into the pot with the rest of the marinade and bring to a boil.  Turn down and simmer.  If it’s too thick – add water or a little bit of beef stock for flavor.  Once that is complete – I would add mushrooms as this recipe suggest.

Here is a recipe that I built mine from

Seasonings

I am not a fan of recipe’s that only speak of salt & pepper…I love well seasoned food.  My pantry has a full shelf of just seasoning – my staple seasonings are:

Johnny’s Seasoning, Lemon Pepper, Chili Powder, Mesquite seasoning, Ground Pepper (variety), ground garlic, cumin, basil, italian seasoning, old bay.

Just about anything I cook will get these seasonings.  I may add more or less depending on what it is I am seasoning.  Of course I am constantly trying new seasonings and marinades.  One I just found that I am learning to use correctly is Chef’s Blend Spices – Ultimate Steak Rub.  I have been using it on all of my meats.  I used it on steaks I pan broiled last nite – YUMMY!!  You gotta try it.  Here is a website where you can find it – I am definitely going to buy all of the other seasonings they have.

Hope you enjoy and please share if there is a new seasoning out there that you love…

2 responses

  1. Pingback: 16 Tasty Steak Marinade Recipes To Try : TipNut.com

Leave a Reply

